
TALES OF AKARANA 

PREEMPTING A PRE-EMPT: The Eighth Deadly Sin 

 

Do you? Should you? What are the dangers? Can your partnership 
pull up short of disaster? 

These are some of the questions generated by Board 23 this week.  

Look at the West hand and decide if you would overcall with this 
hand after South opened 3♣ in first seat. Both sides are vulnerable. 

♠ AJT65  ♥ 5  ♦QJT543  ♣9 

 

If you bid, are you indeed guilty of the sin (it normally is) of pre-
empting a pre-empt? The pre-empt does make it more likely that you 
will find a fit somewhere unless partner is overburdened with hearts 
and clubs. Partner may be flat and if so, may not be strong enough to 
re-open in the pass-out seat. If they do, with say both majors, will 
you ever know how high to bid on your hand, which is so full of 
potential? 

  



 

Are you strong enough? 
 

These questions explain why we continue to pre-empt. Pre-empts 
cause problems for the opposition. Partner too. However, there are 
two opponents and just one partner.  

If I can I like to bid and did call with the above hand. Not showing a 
two-suiter with 4♣. That’s too rich for me. Just a gentle 3♦. The plan 
was to allow partner to call a major, realistically hearts and then I 
could bid out the shape of my hand.  

Of course, it did not work out like that. North used up space with 4♣ 
with partner making a very strong slam try with 5♣. I would have 
loved to have accepted and all would have been good on the day but 
we subsided in 5♦.  

Board 23 
South Deals 
Both Vul 

♠ 9 8 4 
♥ A 10 9 4 3 2 
♦ K 2 
♣ K 7 

 

♠ A J 10 6 5 
♥ 5 
♦ Q J 10 5 4 3 
♣ 9 
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♠ K 7 3 
♥ K Q J 8 
♦ A 8 7 6 
♣ A 2 

  

 
♠ Q 2 
♥ 7 6 
♦ 9 
♣ Q J 10 8 6 5 4 3 

 

West North East South 
      3 ♣ 
3 ♦ 4 ♣ 5 ♣ Pass 
5 ♦ All pass     

 

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2017/June/Final&p=8&h=23&r=4


Maybe partner could have used Key-Card after 4♣. Two key-cards 
would make slam reasonable. However, I had only one, meaning we 
could have been missing two aces.  

What would have happened had I passed….in tempo! North may 
have bid hearts, forcing at the three level with East not having an 
appropriate bid despite being 17 high. South would retreat to 4♣ 
and someone in our partnership would need to find a bid. I would 
rather find it at the three than at the four level.  

Most played the board in 4♠, sometimes by East but mainly by West. 
Only Bev and Allan Morris found their way to slam, 6♠, making an 
overtrick. I was both happy and sad that partner passed 5♦, though 
our slam was no better than 50%. One might wonder what values 
South had for their pre-empt after North led the ♣K. Only if North 
had made a constructive bid would West feel North might have the 
♦K.  

All East-Wests recorded a plus score. This board almost feels like the 
exception to the bridge rule that “you never pre-empt a pre-empt”. 
As we all know, you “never” say “never” in bridge and the opposition 
will always continue pre-empting! 

Richard Solomon 


